National Occupational Standards for Trustees

Click for the full report

These occupational standards were produced in 2006 to encourage good governance throughout the voluntary and community sector. They set out the key responsibilities of trustees and management committee members in a competence framework, grouping the standards into four units, namely:

  1. Safeguard and promote the values and mission of the voluntary or community organisation.
  1. Determine the strategy and structure of the voluntary or community organisation.
  1. Ensure the voluntary or community organisation operates in an effective, responsible and accountable manner.
  1. Ensure the effective functioning of the voluntary or community organisation’s board of trustees.

These standards can be used to check, over time, that trustees are carrying out their role effectively and to identify any knowledge they need to acquire or skills they need to develop.

Rod Hunter thinks:

The world is awash with guidance on good governance and the trick is to find something that is helpful to trustees and board members for their particular situation. The National Occupational Standards are helpful because they set out simply, but comprehensively, the key responsibilities, so in that sense they are a good starting point in any quest.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s